Week 7 The Business

It’s nearly the end of the unit, and now, we’re looking at the business parts of the song, with questions like:

  1. Has my song been financially successful for my artist?
  2. Where is my song available for listening and downloading?
  3. Is there a problem with how available music is today? Is it being illegally downloaded?

 

Since I’m going to be answering the questions in a backwards order today, I’ll start with C. Music is being downloaded for free on a bunch of websites and I personally do know one. And that is a problem, because the artists who make the music don’t get any money they deserve out of it. You can just search the song up on Google and download it easily. It’s so available!

You can normally listen or buy songs like ‘Sugar’ off Itunes and Google Play Music and Spotify. But of course, there are still the illegal sites where you can download everything.

And now, the last/first question(see what I did?). Yes, the song has been incredibly successful! It hit number 1 on a bunch of charts, as we covered in a week before. I’ve actually tried to search it up but I couldn’t actually find how much money they made off the song. I could find that ‘as of August 2015, it has sold 3.3 million copies in the United States.’ That’s a lot. That was nearly a year ago. It’s $2.39 on Itunes and Google Play Music. Imagine that times 3.3 million. A lot.

Leave a comment